native american hunting beliefs & rituals

Default native american hunting beliefs & rituals

i was reading a story a few months back about bowhunting. after the guy shot the buck, he sprinkled cornmeal around its mouth as native americans used to do.

does anyone know more about that or what the thinking/belief was behind it? interesting story.

mike

Putting the cornmeal around the mouth was a sign of respect and to give thanks to the animal for giving it's life.

Corn was considered sacred as was a major food source that could be stored and used in the winter. It was used in many ceremonies.

Not all tribes did it and the corn was used more in the southwest whereas tobacco was used in this area.

I am not an expert, but I did recently stay in a Holiday Inn Express.

The Europeans do a similar thing with the tip of a small pine bough. It is kind of a "last bite" ritual. The tip is then inserted in the hat band of the lucky hunter so all can see he was successful.

We have done it for years!

BW
    BB

Here is a cut and past that explains it a little better

To Deer-UK,

I was stationed in Giessen, Germany for 3 years and developed a friendship with a German officer who was a hunter and fisher. There is a German hunting tradition where the hunter places an evergreen twig in the mouth of the game just harvested and places one in his hat. Do you know the name of this tradition and it's origin? I would really appreciate any information on this. Thanks.

Sincerely,

Larry Hale

Reply from John Cadman;