Question Fresh water reels in saltwater??? Looking for a baitcaster

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Dedicated TF Poster - Not a Tidal Fish Subscriber

Default Fresh water reels in saltwater??? Looking for a baitcaster

Hello all,

I was wondering if anyone has tried using fresh water reels in salt water. My Shimano spinning
    reels are technically for fresh water, but have held up fine. I'm in the market for a new bait caster,
    it looks like the salt water options are few and very pricey. I was wondering how most fresh water reels hold up in the salts?
    Any suggestions on the bait caster.

Thanks, Tim

2. Remove Advertisements
    TidalFish.com
    Advertisements

I have an abu garcia C3 baitcaster that i've been using in the bay for 5 years now. No problems. I even used it on vacation in Florida for a week a couple times. I spray it off with fresh water after using it and don't store it on the boat around the saltwater. I got a Daiwa Tierra spinning reel this year. It's listed as a freshwater reel but i suspect it will hold up fine too.

just spray it with fresh water after using it, then it should last a long time

Super TF Poster - Not a Tidal Fish Subscriber

I've been using this reel for the last few seasons and its held up great. Got some nice fish on it too! Not as smooth as the Revo's but for the money its a good choice.

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...001000_100-1-0

Give it a freshwater rinse down after each use and you should be good to go

Platinum TF Poster - Not a Tidal Fish Subscriber

Tim,
    Last year I bought the Daiwa SF 100HA Strikeforce and man do I really like this reel. It has a 7:1 gear ratio, 8.8 lb of drag weights 8.3oz and retrieves 31” of line on one crank. I have this on my new 6’2” rod that I just built and it a great set up and for $50.00 you can’t beat it. Just check this one out http://www.histackleboxshop.com/Daiw...ast-sf100h.htm
    Last edited by Steve F; 06-14-2010 at 08:19 AM. Reason: Wrong model number