Tidal Fish Forum banner

Fly Line Question/Recommendation

2K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  Don Hershfeld 
#1 ·
I need some help here. I went to the fly fishing film tour last night here in richmond and won one of the raffles. Great show by the way. I won my choice of any fly line manufacturued by Scientific Anglers. My question is what would people recommend getting. I am not a novice fly fisherman but definitely not an expert. My casting definitely needs work especially in windy conditions. I want to get a new floating line for my 5 weight which I mainly use to fish for smallmouth and trout on the Jackson and in SNP. There are a bunch of different lines listed in their website but I have no idea which to choose from.

http://buy.scientificanglers.com/lines.html

If anyone can help with a recommendation, I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
EHO

#2 ·
SA GPX WF is one of my favorite lines. It is a dream to cast (makes my bad technique look good), durable, casts small flies as well as nymphs and larger smallmouth flies with ease. No question for me. BTW I would get the normal GPX WF not the Sharkskin, that stuff tears up my fingers...

Jim

#4 ·
OK I see what you mean. there is actually 3 lines now. Normal Mastery series GPX (which I love and which I refered too), Sharkskin GPX (I dont like as it tears my fingers after a long day and seems to sty dirty), and the textured GPX ( which is a new line that I am not familiar with). I dont know about the last one but I live the Mastery GPX. It is not cheap at $70 (I found it on sale for $60) the textured one is $10 more. Again I cant speak to that line maybe someone else can, but you will not go wrong with the Mastery GPX. The issues of durability and memory the textured line is supposed to help I never had an issue with with my GPX in the 3 yrs I have had it on the reel.

Jim

#5 ·