Tidal Fish Forum banner

Patapsco 6/29

489 views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  Gitzit 2 
#1 ·
Saw some birds working of Ft. Smallwood, went upwind, cut the motor and drifted within casting distance. Was bailing 10"-14" Rock for the next 45 minutes(6:15pm to 7:00pm). Never could bring up a keeper. Was casting a 4" Chartuse BA on 1/2oz Jig head and left them biting.

Now a lot would say that's not a great day, but as a relative newbie, I was more than satisfied. I just bought my first boat in April, and have only fished off of it 3 or 4 times with nothing to show except for a few lost lures to the skates. Bought the boat mainly for family boat rides/cruising with hope of some fishing time(I have two daughters 3 yrs old and 2 yrs old so I squeeze fishing in where I can!) My wife and kids were with me tonight also, and had a blast helping me bring them in.

Question: Would I have had a better chance at larger fish by switching to a heavier jig head and longer BA?

Appreciate all the informative posts. Hopefully, I'll be able to contribute eventually.

#3 ·
Nice job finding and staying on the fish. Bailing them on light tackle is too much fun.

Read some of the other posts.... Sometimes if a B/A is vertically jigged or even "deadsticked" you will get a bonus of a bigger fish who are cleaning up the scraps left by the army of dinks.

It is always worthwhile to try a few different size B/A's under the breaking fish. The season is early... Keep up the great work. Mike

#4 ·
I would definately go bigger! 3/4 oz to 1 oz and 7". I often switch to 2 oz SS just to get to the bottom quickly. still lots of fun bailing[wink] Just listen to these guys and you will be on fish more times than not.

Jason

#7 ·