View Full Version : Way OT- health insurance for self employed

Pages : [1] 2

runnin late
09-26-2008, 02:27 PM
Since I am now a small business owner and no longer a part of the corporate world, my wife and I are looking for health insurance for the family. Just wondering if anyone has any good or bad experiences with providers that you might want to share. We don't know if it is best to look at plans ourselves or go through an agent. Just wondering on a windy day....
PM me if you don't want to respond in this post.
Thanks,
Dave

27 sailfish
09-26-2008, 02:31 PM
Sit down when you open the quotes :eek: - they will shock you. Figure roughly $600.00-700.00 per month for decent coverage. It sucks for the small business owner.We have Blue Cross but got in years ago.

CarterCrew
09-26-2008, 02:34 PM
Your best price would be to go through an association for people that do the type of work you do ... for example, there are associations for folks that do consulting and training. (what I do). Those associations tend to have a group health plan that is available to members.

GTF
09-26-2008, 03:07 PM
Go to Esurance – Online Auto Insurance Quotes, Comparisons, & Resources (http://www.esurance.com)

click on life/health insurance

You will have to give them basic info...age, weight, if you smoke, do you want dental cover, vision, etc.
Then you will see all of the available policies based on your provided criteria.

fyi...If your family is NOT going to have anymore children...make sure you remove the maternity benefits from your wifes portion of the quote...this will dramatically lower the cost.

fyi#2...keep in mind insurance companies are able to raise your rates anytime they like with a one month notice. (After my wife had our 2nd child, our insurance jumped by 40%...of course we got a new policy)

good luck.

Grady.

Hunter
09-26-2008, 03:08 PM