Tidal Fish Forum banner

Autopilot question

3K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  b8 boy 
#1 ·
I'm thinking about an A/P for my boat. (36 Egg Harbor) Is one brand better or more reliable than another? Are they really worth there weight in gold? What should I look for in the unit and what are worthless gadgets that won't get used. I'm not very technical.
Thanks for your input
Pat
Nauti Girl

#3 ·
Pat,
They are worth their weight in gold - I would never own a boat without one. I have the Simrad AP26 - and have had no issues. I'd go with a new unit because you just don't know with electronics and having a warranty is something.

You must remember that haing and AP doesn't mean you don't need to "drive" the boat - always having a watch is critical - not having to maintain a course when trolling or running is priceless.

Tim T.
Got Fish Too
Judge 34 Express

#4 ·
You will wonder how you got along without it. It takes most of the work out of trolling. I just pick a point on my chartplotter, set it as a waypoint and have the AP steer the boat straight to it. If I mark bait or get a knockdown my Raymarine has a Cloverleaf pattern that I can engage around that point.

Simrad makes a good AP and I have no complaints about my Raymarine. Make sure you get one with a Rate Gyro. My first AP just used a Fluxgate Compass, the extra accuracy added by the Rate Gyro makes a world of difference.

#6 ·
My Raymarine has the position indicator too, not sure if the rudder feedback is needed for it to work. The boat already had the feedback installed when I got it so I hooked it up to the AP even though its not required on the newer pilots. Love having it when I am docking.

#9 ·
AP24 and NNS7 displays are the best feature I have changed on my Carolina.