Eeling for strippers
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Dedicated TF Poster - Not a Tidal Fish Subscriber

Default Eeling for strippers

What is the best way to rig eels for strippers next month. Bobber? With sinker or not? Swim free? On bottom? On 3 way? Tail hook or head hook? How can you keep the eel from knoting?

Thanks for any help.

2. Remove Advertisements
    TidalFish.com
    Advertisements

I am by no means an expert but did pretty well eeling last year. I set one to the bottom with alot of weight on it and hooked it right under the jaw out through the top. If you throw a little ice in with the eels it will calm them down so you can handle them. I also would free line one on the top just to see if they were on top. I would put the third about halfway down. I would hook them on a three way with one drop about a foot down for the weight and the other drop about 4 feet with about an 8/O or 9/O hook. I waited and got the first fish in and then switched all rigs to the same and killed them after that. I found that they were consistantly down deep on the bottom. I also learned a really valuable lesson about dealing with the eels while they are in the boat. keep them in a bucket with a wet towel and some ice, don't put them in your livewell. I had one crawl into the drain for my livewell and it got stuck and died. It really sucked getting him out of there also.

john

Archie - Traditional: hook up through the lower jaw & out through the top, on a 6/0 - 8/0 octopus-style hook rigged to a 4' long 40-lb mono or flouro leader, then a swivel, then a cigar weight of the appropriate size. Latest twist: suspended under a bobber.
    RE twisting: put your eels in a tupperwear tub (don't 100% seal it or you'll suffocate them), and place the tub into your cooler. Once chilled, they will slow down and be easy to handle. When moving spots, drop each and every one into a small bucket or leave them hanging; never let 2 eels on 2 hooks and 2 lines get close to one another.