Need some Help Looking at Getting a Boat
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Dedicated TF Poster - Not a Tidal Fish Subscriber

Default Looking at Getting a Boat

All

As you might know, I fish off a JetSki.

I like the solitude, ease of handling, that its cheap to run, I can pull it with my Ranger, and store it in my garage.

Now - I am looking at getting a small boat to add. I will be using it mostly alone also. Periodically taking Wife/small Grandkids fishing at Rudee, Lynnhaven Inlet, ICW/Pungo Bridge Ramp.

Storage will be in the backyard once i widen the Gate.

When I am solo, I will continue to use it like the Ski - troll Sandbridge to the Cape, drift Lynnhaven, CBBT 1st Island.

Looking in the 16 - 17 footer range (let the flaming begin).

Looking for suggestions like Key Lago Center Console-type. Not the Carolina Skiff format but I have no experience with that type of shape.

After years of fishing these area's, the most common issue is getting out of the inlets. This is why I am looking at a boat with good freeboard.

I appreciate it if you share your experience..
    Steve

2. Remove Advertisements
    TidalFish.com
    Advertisements

Steve, I would go with a 18, you can handle it yourself and trailering it is no problem. You will be happy with the extra room- especially with kids. It will handle much rougher water and you will have more places to store stuff. There are many brands that would fill your needs, take your time...

Super TF Poster - Not a Tidal Fish Subscriber

If you plan on taking grandkids and wife along I would make sure that you get one with some type of enclosed head. Even if it is one that is part of the center console.

5. Remove Advertisements
    TidalFish.com
    Advertisements

yea 18 is about the size i am looking at.

had a sea ray sundancer a lifetime ago. the I/O with the engine below deck - no doghouse. wife and i would stay on it during the weekends.