Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Are we supposed to use barbless hooks for pre-season catch and release fishing? I thought I had heard that before, but am not sure if that is the case.

Any input?

Thanks,
Mike

·
Registered
5,375 Posts
The only requirement we have for barbless hooks is for yellow perch between 2/1 & 3/15.

The only hook requirement we have for rock is if using bait during the C&R SEASON, Mar. 1 - May 3 the hook must have a gap of 1/2" or more, and be a non offset circle.

·
Registered
2,687 Posts
Go ahead and crush the barbs anyway. I've been crushing the barbs on my all of my lures for 25 years. I'd guess only a few fish become "unbuttoned" each year and who really knows if its because I'm barbless. Anyways, its a helluva lot easier on the fish and more importantly, me.

·
Registered
4,058 Posts
I noticed on a few of the MD-DNR striper season maps that barbless hooks are required when fishing the Potomac during the C&R season. Not sure of the dates though. I'm assuming barbless is required only when targeting stripers. Probably OK to use barbed hooks when fishing for other species, like LMBass, shad, panfish and all other species (except yperch).

·
Tidal Fish Super Subscriber
2,741 Posts
The only hook requirement we have for rock is if using bait during the Spring Trophy Season the hook must have a gap of 1/2" or more, and be a non offset circle.
I think that is only during the C&R season on the flats isn,t it??

·
Registered
387 Posts
All of my lures have crushed barbs. For my safety, my quests safety and the fishes safety.
Best of all, I also think it adds to the sport of landing a fish. With barbs any knucklehead can usually get a fish to the boat. But without barbs, I think brings in a whole new challenge to the fight.
Mark

·
Tidal Fish Commercial Subscriber - I support Tidal
4,747 Posts