Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fished off Tall Timbers yesterday and we caught over a hundred fish with large groups of birds scattered about; only caught one keeper, many 16 to 18" fish and many many 10 to 14" fish; a healthy sign for the future. I've been fishing the Potomac and Bay for 50 yrs. and yesterday will be one of my most memorable. Top water and jigs worked all day.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I I just got back from fishing Monday and this morning. Monday morning I got up bumped out to the number 7 trolled for an hour or two till about 10 o'clock. Picked up a couple of nice rockfish but no keepers on a pink spoon and a number two planner. Found some birds around 10 o'clock over breaking fish and caught over 100 on a chartreuse little bunker 1 ounce jig. Most fish 18 inches and below. I did pick up a couple of 20 plus size fish. On the way back to yeo around 1:30 in the rain I ran into another couple of schools of 16 inch fish. I kept fishing till 4:30 catching a fish virtually every cast on that chartreuse Jig. I took pounce's advice and let it sink under the breaking fish and picked up a couple of more 20 plus size fish. Best day ever on the river.
Today it was dead calm and super foggy. Had to putt putt around and listen to find the birds. Found more breaking rockfish schools. The second school I found were 20 plus size fish!! picked up a couple of 24 inch rockfish and a 28 inch blue fish? The blue fish fight like a demon. Eventually I broke off my chartreuse Jig. Tried everything else I had in the box and only got a few strikes. Had to be off the water by noon but still an incredible couple days of fishing on the lower Potomac.
Thanks to all y'all for the info !!

·
Registered
424 Posts