Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been fishing the Severn now for about 7 years. I always look forward to the fall rock fishing. But this year, is realllllllllly frustrating. We have caught some rock, but all under 18 inches so far and the bite has been slow. I have never seen the river so full of bait fish and blues since I have been fishing. We fished yesterday morning early...nothing but a few blues. I am thinking until the water temps drop enough to run these blues out of the river, the rockfishing will be slow. Are others seeing the same or have I just lost my fishing mojo?

·
Registered
182 Posts
Flyguy - I feel your pain. I've been out a few times over the last week and haven't managed anything over 19 inches. We went out Sat. morning and got a few 16-18 inch rock early, but ended up catching blues, white perch, and small rock the rest of the day. At least we were catching, but I'm really looking for the 20-24 inch + grade of rock that some guys have been able to find (with secret lures at secret locations :D)

Just gotta keep at it I guess..:fishing2: Cooler water temps should help too...

-Rob

·
Premium Member
26,104 Posts
Try catching some small Spot or Menhadden and liveline them near bulkheads/riprap/drop offs/etc. The Rock are close to the baitfish and feeding heavily.This week has a full moon (14th) and that means alot of Rock will be feeding at night.Best time will be from 6-7 am.Once the sun comes up- the Rock will be much tougher to catch on lures since they have a full belly.A live bait dropped in front of them might tempt them into hitting.