Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I keep hearing that to increase the number of bucks in your herd you need to thin out the number of does that you have. Can anyone tell me why this is? We have a large number of does on the property that I hunt and we are trying to increase the buck numbers on the property so we are going to thin the does and only take large bucks. I ended up passing on a six pointer on Saturday so that he could get a little bit bigger. He must have walked by me 4 times taunting me. It took everything that I had not to stick an arrow through him the last time he walked by. It is not my property though and I have to respect the land owners wishes.

Thanks,
Ed

·
Registered
148 Posts
I'm no expert on this by any means, but I do know we wack the hell out of does every year and only kill bucks if they are shooters. We are trying to get our buck to doe ratio down. Just think if you only had one doe in heat in your area and not 10, all the bucks would be coming to you! We get 50 permits to kill does a year and fill them. Good luck!

·
Registered
99 Posts
EHOIV, bY no means am I a expert either but thinning the does will give you better quality antlers. The big nanny's compete with the bucks for the best food sources as well as there fawns and yearlings. Shoot the big nannys 3 and over or 140 to 150 lb range. The yearling does will breed this year and eat less than the big nannys, also try to take doe fawns if you can make sure they are't buttons. For every 2 does you see in there are probably 3 that you don't see. If you dont keep them in check they will eat you out of house and home. Also if you see bad genetics get rid of them once a spike always a spike is what I have heard all my life, wether it's true is the question.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Guys,