Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last year as a Non- Resident I purchased a Chesapeake Bay & Coastal Sport Boat License, and at that time I received a sticker for $50. After doing so I found that was the way to go as several of my friends could fish on my boat without obtaining an individual license. Yesterday I went to purchase the same boat license and learned after doing so that the sticker would be mailed to me and until that arrived, I could use the paper or receipt from the purchase. They also stated that if anyone that is a Non- Resident or unlicensed fisherman must complete a Maryland Saltwater Angler Registration online, which is free. This registration must be completed before they fish. I really do not understand the reason for this.

·
Registered
14,003 Posts
Last year as a Non- Resident I purchased a Chesapeake Bay & Coastal Sport Boat License, and at that time I received a sticker for $50. After doing so I found that was the way to go as several of my friends could fish on my boat without obtaining an individual license. Yesterday I went to purchase the same boat license and learned after doing so that the sticker would be mailed to me and until that arrived, I could use the paper or receipt from the purchase. They also stated that if anyone that is a Non- Resident or unlicensed fisherman must complete a Maryland Saltwater Angler Registration online, which is free. This registration must be completed before they fish. I really do not understand the reason for this.
It is a way of tracking catches and knowing how many people are fishing.. I have a MD sport boat license and fished in VA e few weeks ago. I had to register with VMRC. I had a guy from VA fish with me yesterday and he had to register. It's simple and can be done on a smart phone. You really don't have to understand all the regs but you must comply with them...............Gary

·
Registered
885 Posts