Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to deer hunting and have a stupid question. In the early bow season is it the right time to use a deer scent and if so what type. I figure it is too early to use a doe in heat scent but what about a tarsal gland scent. Any insight would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Ed

·
Registered
4,025 Posts
Tarsal, as is doe in heat, is primarily a mating scent. Curiosisty scents like vanilla, apple may work but something like a straight doe pee could be your best choice.

My personal preferance is to always go scentless and rely more on calling than anything. A friend of mine who used to use Tink 69, switched to Code Blue and had nothing but bad experciences. Spooked deer everytime he used it, both buck and doe.

The one problem with scents is keeping them fresh and depending on what the deer were eating where the scent was harvested, and what the deer are eating where you hunt, the odors can be different causing immediate alarm.

This is all assuming you are talking about attracting scents and not covering scents. I still don't use them either, although I used to use fox urine as a cover scent with good success.

Now it's its scentlock head to toe, rubber boots and scent eliminating spray on everything when I get to my stand. Never have any issues.

·
Registered
184 Posts
I used scents yrs. ago and spooked more deer than not. Was a scent once called Davy Bracken. I and buddys of mine had good luck by putting it on a drag rag going to the stand. deer would come trailing with there noise on the ground. Havent see it in a store in yrs. But i've always said i think the scents atrack more hunters for the ($$$) than they do deer. I also go scent less and do very little calling. Been deer hunting for 32 yrs.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Guys,