Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have downriggers on my boat, 21ft whaler. I am normally jigging but am going to try mixing it up this season. I have never used downriggers before and my question is what size weight to use with them to lower to desired position. Also how much line to you normally let out per sides? And what do most people run off of the DR's?I just dont want to get anythign crossed up with the other boat roads. Tight lines, Colin

·
Tidal Fish Subscriber - I'm cool!
3,364 Posts
You can run any lure really. I run big umbrella's in the spring and small tandems in the summer. Put the lures about 50' behind the ball. The weight of the ball can depend on your lure. I use 10lb year round. you can go less but big umbrellas will pull 8lb or less balls back so if it reads 25' you may only be 17' deep.

Lastly the depth you run them depends on your spread and depth of water you are fishing. As well as where you are marking fish. In the spring I cover the upper column with my other rods so fish the down riggers 20 and 25' or 25 and 30' normally. I know Skip runs them as deep as 40' in the fall. summer I sometimes go shallower water and bring them up to 15 and 20.

·
Premium Member
26,288 Posts
I use downriggers in spring and fall/winter.They work great :yes:. I use a 10-12 lb ball.The pancake weights tend to track funny if you troll across the curent (east/west).

My normal set up is one at 35 and one at 25 feet - on the counter.They run abour 30 and 21 feet down , most times.

You can use any lure on a downrigger.I let back 30-35 feet of line-then attach it to the clip.I favor Black's downrigger releases.They seem to be the most reliable.

I like daisy chains or umbrella rigs but will run spoons also.The umbrellas are good to use on downriggers.You get the lure deep with only 70 feet of line out.Once a fish hits-the umbrella rig pulls the fish towards the surface :thumbup:.