Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After taking my son to work Wed afternoon I decided to put a little time in woods. I've been bowhunting for about 40 years but after my heart attack I haven't hunted much and none this year until Wed. After about 45 minutes a 4 pt walked in. While trying to decide whether to pop him I noticed movement about 50 yards back. Turns out it was a fairly respectable 8 pt which conveniently walks to within 25 yards, stops broadside, and turns to look back at the 4 pt. Big mistake. After the shaft goes completely through him he walks about 10 yards and just stands there for about 5 minutes like nothing unusual has happened. He then proceeds to walk another 20 yards and drops. By the way he reacted, if I hadn't seen the shaft penetrate the deer I would have thought I had missed him. Pic is of deer in back of my truck.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
CB, Don't know what the spread is. Haven't measured it. I see you are in Solomons. Before I moved up to Charles Cnty I lived St. Marys and hunted St. Marys and Calvert Counties for about 30 years. There used to be some really nice deer down your way.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Nice Buck! Thats a good shot as well. Its nice when they don't run 200 yards into thick stuff and die. Beutiful buck!

·
Registered
185 Posts
Congrats, I'll bet ya he was a beauty slippin thru the woods...How did ya manage to keep calm to get the shot?

enjoy the sweet smell of success !

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks. nicbuc, he came in pretty quick. As far as staying calm, after about 40 years and approx 100 deer with bow it takes a really huge buck to get the shakes going. I sorta miss that part of the hunt though.

·
Registered
770 Posts
Makoman,nice buck but I've been hunting 39 years and I still shake sometimes if I watch a doe too long.