Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was out today working north of the bridge when on of the four rods went down with a bit hit. Partner grabbed the rod and started to land the fish when he put to much pressure on the line and it parted with the fish and a set of green tandems. Goodby fish and gear. Lo and behold, we get a hit on the second rod which goes over hard. Grabbed the rod and started to fight the fish to the boat and find that the first set of tandems still had the fish on and had been caught by the second set of lures. Fought the fish and gear to the side of the boat and netted a nice 38" male still squirting. After a pix or two he went back and will live to be caught another day. I've heard of once in a lifetime events like that but it's my first time to have something like that happen. Good day on the water. Saw only one other fish caught and go back. Back at SPSP it sounded like a lot of releases of slot fish.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Reminds me of the time Skip lost his sunglasses only to find them snagged on one of his lines he had been trolling for hours.

·
Premium Member
26,140 Posts
It does happen now / then.

Besides catching my sunglasses - I had a wire line outfit 100 ' break ( Monel does that some times ) with umbrella. The 200 tandem caught the umbrella - got it and fish back.

Off Ocean City - charter captain handed down a 50 International from bridge with Tuna on it. Angler had just applied sun screen - slippery hands lost the $$$$$ outfit overboard. Luckily - another rig caught the line - rod / reel and Tuna were brought in.

Off Point Look Out - guy lost rod / reel to big Bluefish. Later in day - reels in a Blue with hook in it's jaw , sure enough - line lead to earlier lost rig.

Congrats on a lucky catch ( recatch ? ) - crazy stuff happens on the water.

·
Registered
1,005 Posts