Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Tidal Fish Subscriber - I'm cool!
3,364 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im thinking about getting the Hobie Outbac sportfisherman and was hoping you guys could reccomend a fishfinder. I am new to yak fishing so was also wondering how you power it.

·
Registered
187 Posts
I use gel cell hobby batteries. They are compact, and power my elecronics for hours without any problems. I got mine really cheap off eBay!

John "Toast" Oast
Williamsburg Kayak Fishing Association
http://wkfa.org/

·
Registered
35 Posts
Hookin-up, I just put one in my P13, I got the Eagle 168 on sale at BPS for $69. It works great.
As far as power.. I used an old ryobi 12 v battery charger and all I do is plug in a battery from my drill.
Didn't have to buy anything.

·
Registered
255 Posts
I'll go one further and figure out a way to mount the drill base so that I can just plug in a battery on top of my yak when I go out and unplug for charging when I get in. That would be smoking hot.

·
3,364 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
All good ideas... How about mounting the transducer? I think Im gonna go with the Lowrance M68. It looks like a nice combo unit.

Also looking at the mounting kit from kayakfishingstuff.com looks like it has everything I need. Ill start with that power source (8AA's) and if I need more I can step up in the future.

Any other Misc things I need for the kay before I head out?

So far I have...
inflatable life vest
handheld radio
dry bags for camera, keys, etc
fish stringer
all my fishing gear

Also anyone crab from a kayak? I think with the pull traps that have open tops and just lay flat it would be pretty easy.

·
Registered
187 Posts
To mount the transducer, use epoxy or marine Goop. Find a place out of the way on the inside of the hull, ad put down a blob of glue. Work the transducer into it well. Place something with weight on it till it dries.