Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
finally in the financial position to do this. I live in Maryland. Who has done this or does it for extra cash or even for a living. I have some questions and would like some help. thank you

·
Tidal Fish Subscriber - I'm cool!
1,292 Posts
you can start by posting pictures of recent renovations you've made to your current house.

·
Registered
442 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
my main questions are about taxes on your profit if you dont hold onto the house for 2 years, but you do less than a certain amount of flips per year. I am a builder by trade so I will be doing the work myself. If you make 40k profit how much comes out for taxes-do you pay capital gains?? or a set percent?

·
Registered
267 Posts
Your a builder by trade, do you have an accountant? If so its time for the two of you to go to lunch. If not hire one and then it will time for the two of you to go to lunch.

·
Registered
4,995 Posts
Get an accountant, a lawyer and someone in the fast lane of real estate.

And unless you are a cash buyer get a mortgage banker or financial backer that moves just slightly slower then the speed of light.

All of these people will be able to give you the advice you need. Without them you don't stand a chance.

·
Registered
531 Posts
You are looking at probably 28%.

One option is a 1031 exchange. This is where you have to buy another property for at least the same amount of the property you sell. You only have 60 days to ID the exchange property and another 120 days to close on it. If you jump through this hoop you defer the taxes.

Get an accountant who does these. If they screw it up, you have to pay the taxes.