Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
To maximize your investment, I would say yes you do especially the first few years, but then again this is my first time and all my info is based on info/due dilligance not experreince??

I don't want them to choke out and compete (nutrients/water) with the other plants. I'm planting a combo or austrian winter peas, buckwheat, two types of clover, rape, khale, beets and wheat.

The seed bed I'm trying to prep was previossly over run with small saplings and 3' tall weeds and other grasses. I've sprayed GLY-4 on Saturday and am currently waiting for that to take. I'll be discing this weekend. But again my question is that since I'm disturbuinbg the seed bed/ground any seeds that may have been lying dormant or weren't getting enough moisture/rain prior to being disturbed......will they germinate NOW? and if so on average what could I except as a ratio betweeen weeds/ desired pants germinating? Ideally I'd like to disc it now, disc it again in 3 weeks then spray/plant, but I'm running out of time. In the spring I will do a more proper seed bed preperation but just for this fall I want to know if I don't spray pre-emergant what's gonna happen??

Oh yah, I'm also planning on putting down several hundred lbs of lyme.

THANKS,

Anthony

·
Registered
128 Posts
They will grow, but hopefully if you establish your plot with desired species, they will out compete the undesirables. All will be nice and tender for this fall though. Doubt you are going to have a full lush crop right off the bat, but I think those tender little shoots will be just as appetizing if not more that a fully mature plant.

·
Registered
471 Posts