Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's your favorite groundhog rig. I've been shooting a Ruger Varminter in 22-250 for the last 20 years and have had great success with it. Freefloating the barrel, bedding the action and some trigger work really helped with accuracy. Using match bullets seated to the lands and neck sizing only it shoots 3/8" off the bags at 100. Ground hogs are ground meat out to 300.
So what is your favorite?
Mark

·
Premium Member
4,888 Posts
Got two, sorry I can't pick one but I love them both equally.. Tikka master sporter in 22-250. Awesome stock and pinpoint accuracy. MAtch quality trigger and the barrel is floated so nice you can fit cardboard inbtween the barrel and stock all the way to the action. Second is a Remington VLS 26 inch bull barrelled .243 that shoots .4's all day and its completely stock except for some trigger work.

·
Premium Member
4,888 Posts
Factory 40 gr. Ballistic silver tips, but it shootts the cheapie winchester Varmint just as well. I gave up reloading for awhile just because of lack of time.

·
Registered
421 Posts
Ruger 22-45, 5" bull barrel, stock grip, iron sights and an extra mag. loaded with 10 Remington Golden Bullet HP 36 gr. 1280 fps custom loaded at walmart, get between the hog and the hole and protect your nut.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
For the garden varmits....I prefer to use my Desert Eagle 50 Cal........ony got 7 shots:rolleyes: but you should see what happens:eek:

Tony

·
Registered
25 Posts
I have two favorites:

Under 250yds- TC Encore Handgun 15inch, .308 Win, 125 Nosler Ballistic Tip. Trigger work. Fun shooting off the top of a back pack. With this rig I shot a double at 208yds.