Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every winter I want to keep fishing,so instead of winterizing my motor,I put a electric heater in the boat. Cover it with its main canvas then I cover the whole boat with a three mil tarp strapped around the boat. The digital thermometer I have on the inside says Temps are staying 80 degrees during the day,70 at night. I drained all the water out of the block and risers. This should be OK I'm thinking. Is there a better way to keep in boards safe from freezing and still keep fishing?

·
Registered
973 Posts
I am no authority so dont rely on my word.I have a volvo 5.7 i/o.In my opinion you are more than fine.Every year i simply drain the block thoroughly,remove the batteries and cover her up.So far so good.Im an electrician so my initial thought is safety.Make sure the wiring is rated for the load and obviously the heater is clear from everything.

·
Registered
213 Posts
If you have drained the block and risers, then the heater is not needed.

After seeing the problems that Ethanol causes with idle engines, I was advised a couple of years ago by a good marine mechanic to run the engine in the boat every couple of weeks to keep everything running smoothly. As a result, I haven't formally winterized my engine since. I flush the engine as I would usually do after use. Then I drain the block, risers, water heater lines, etc. while it is still warm. Then I wait a couple of weeks and when the right day hits, I will go outside and run the engine until it reaches operating temperature and repeat the process over again. I have not experienced any issues with the fuel system or block.