Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What would be the easiest way to get started crabbing from a boat for personal use? Do you just buy the larger pots drop them off go fishing for a while come back and check them go fishing for a while then come back and check or is there a better way to do it? Total newb here so thanks for any info

·
Registered
14,253 Posts

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
Everything you need to know about trot-lining is in that file!

When you say "Larger Pot" I'm assuming you mean the commercial style pots not the small recreation crab traps.

The commercial Pots are for commercial licensed fishermen you can use up to 30 recreation traps if you purchase the crab recreation permit.

Most tackle shops have the required permit also Check the MDR web site for the LAWS.

·
Registered
14,253 Posts
Everything you need to know about trot-lining is in that file!

When you say "Larger Pot" I'm assuming you mean the commercial style pots not the small recreation crab traps.

The commercial Pots are for commercial licensed fishermen you can use up to 30 recreation traps if you purchase the crab recreation permit.

Most tackle shops have the required permit also Check the MDR web site for the LAWS.
Dale, That is MD law. I believe in VA you can use a few pots as a rec without being a waterfront property owner........... Gary

·
Registered
3,678 Posts
In VA you can use two "commercial style" crab pots per person without a license.