Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,093 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How effective will a 50 to 75 grain powder charge be ona whitetail? My seven year old wants to kill a deer bad and I'm thinking if I drop the powder charge he can handle the recoil but will it provide enough a$$ to do the job.

DEAN

·
Registered
43 Posts
I am by far no expert with black powder, but I would think 75 to 80 gr charge with a light bullet in the low 200's might not be a bad combination, hopefully the shot will be closer than further, I have also known guys I've hunted with use a 50cal sabot casing with a 45 cal bullet, maybe a thought, if you can kill one with a 410 slug or 20ga. this combo should be fine, but like I said I am no expert but have killed quite a few with the muzzleloader, maybe more input from others on the board would be good. Hope this helped

Also go with a quality hollow point for more expansion.

·
Registered
838 Posts
The most important part is shot placement and range. The charges you're thinking about would do the job as long as they're not long range shot and placed in th boiler room. After all a .22 will kill a deer if placed right. Try to work up a load that the little one can handle and let him have at it. Don't you just love getting the next generation involved. Can't wait to take my grandson out.

·
Registered
294 Posts
I'm shooting a cva magbolt 150 / 45 cal. with a loose 100grain pyrodex charge and killed 2 last week within 30 yds and crushed both with a 200 grain spire sabot.

I know you can go down to 75 grains and this bullet and still have good results.

Very little kick.

Bill

·
Registered
99 Posts