Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a friend/co-worker that is heavy into his fly fishing, thus sparking an interest for me. I have some freshwater experience and no saltwater experience. I like the fact that there are so many angles with fly fishing.

So I'm looking for advice with anything anyone has to offer. I think I want to fish freshwater before saltwater, but I think ultimately saltwater is where I want to be. I would like to start out small, so any advice will be taken to heart.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
302 Posts
Take some casting lessons before you buy a rod and reel. Your local fly shop can recommend someone, and may already have someone on staff.

·
Registered
5,348 Posts
A casting lesson is smart.

And don't listen to folks who say "get the rod that's right for your casting style. What's right for someone else, may not be right for you...."

It's stupid. You don't have a casting style yet. Get a decent, medium fast rod, a modest reel and have fun!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Any suggestions on what brand to look for. i'd like to get my money's worth, but because i'm not sure if I'm going to like the sport, I'd like something within a reasonable budget.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Where you located?

The best place to buy a fly rod is at a fly shop. They usually will let you cast several rods to see which one best suits you. You can spend $100 to $700 depending on what suits your fancy. Most fly rod makers offer an entry level line of fly rods. Get one with a decent warranty policy so if you break it you can get it easily replaced. A decent fly reel will cost you $100 to $300. Again, most reel companies have entry level reels all the way up to $700 for reels like Tibor and Abel. Here are some suggestions based on rods that I have owned as well as reels.

Rods

Orvis - TLS series
Sage - Launch
Loomis - GL2 and GL3
Scott - AS series