Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted nothing more than to have a positive catching post here and beat the odds. As a rookie I was hoping to get out, work hard, find fish and unlock the lockjaw just like the pros and guides who have more practice. That didn't happen, haha.

Despite the reports of slow catching at the CBBT, being a rookie and hopeful that with hard work and patience we may have some fun catching with light tackle at the CBBT. We left Lynnhaven Inlet about 7am, circled the islands one at at time, first close to the rocks then another loop around each with a wider zig zag swath hoping to find a school somewhere around the outside of the islands themselvs. Zero, nothing Nada for schools of rock fish. We marked what I personally would consider a lot of bait, big bait balls, big mountainous clouds of bait mostly on the Va side and most of the very large schools of bait where in the channels especially on the incoming and more bait in the Chesapeake channel than the Thimble shoal channel. We marked one single good mark shallow heading out from Lynhaven and not another single mark the entire day. We didn't even fish.

We cruised around from 6mph to 9mph watching individual spread out diving gannets and great black backed gulls (the big seagulls) sitting on the water and anxiously waiting to find a school of fish who have moved in or started to feed under these birds. We drove around from 7am to 3pm. We checked all the spots where diving gannets where feeding and there was always bait in the area but no (rockfish) fish that we could find.

This was my first time to the CBBT and we had a great time, the weather was beautiful but it was a little disappointing as we didn't even fish. I knew the reports were poor but thought that hey, you don't know if you don't go. I also thought that there are always guys catching who don't post so we still wanted to try, learn the area and check it out.