Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Premium Member
571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need a decent baitcaster this year. I have narrowed my choices down to the Bass Pro Shops Pro Qualifier for $80, or the Shimano Curado G for $100. I will primarily use this reel for jigging around the Bay Bridge area. I fish about 2 days a week, I used baitcasters at the end of last year's season, but I am no expert with them, and I have never worn a reel out.

Thank you, and good luck with this snow.

·
Registered
2,321 Posts
You are gonna hear alot of stuff here. BPS baitcasters at that price is an excellent deal (i got one thats still strong at prolly 10 yrs with many 40 plus fish on it though I use it mainly for topwatr) but Shimono Curado at that price is even better. For jiggin I would recommend open face for the sensitivity. Good luck.

·
Premium Member
26,108 Posts
Stop in at Marty's in Edgewater.

One of the employees - Mike ? ( damn I'm bad with names ) is expert on baitcasting reels.

He'll ask you how you intend to use it - then help you get right one and correct line for it.

I picked up a nice ABU / Garcia. He showed me how the flipping lever can be used for deep water LTJ. The lever puts reel in free spool but engages when thumb bar is released. Cool feature I never would have known about without being told.

Local baitshops may / may not be lowest price but you get benefit of the staff knowing you and them going extra mile in customer service.

Prime example: Last year I broke a 5 year old St. Criox rod. Owner of local shop knew how much I liked the rod - offered to loan me one while mine was being replaced under warranty. I had spare rods but hell of an offer - I won't forget.

·
Registered
1,374 Posts
"I picked up a nice ABU / Garcia. He showed me how the flipping lever can be used for deep water LTJ. The lever puts reel in free spool but engages when thumb bar is released. Cool feature I never would have known about without being told."