Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to crabbing and wanted to get some info and advice on getting started.:helpsmilie: I've got a nice boat and am at Breezy Point this year. Whated to get an idea of what type of traps and where to go and when. I've got a 9 and 10 year old asking everyday can we please go crabbing this year:clap: . Been fishing the bay for the past 10 years but never crabbed. Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks George:

·
Registered
970 Posts
Is your boat trailerable? If so I would recommend putting in at benedict or lens on the patuxent river. If your going to trap I would recommend using topless but on that river I much prefer a trotline. If your locked into a slip around breezy I could recommend a few spots just BMAIL me.

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
George
Welcome to the Crab Forum.
You may want to start with (Kevin) [email protected] 410-803-8485.
Also: On Monday, March 5, there will be a Recreational Crabbing Symposium at the Hughersville American Legion Hall @ 7 PM at the monthly Southern Maryland CCA meeting.
This was posted on the Chesapeake Board.
Is your boat trailable?
You will find lots of advise here on this board :))

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey guys thanks for the reply-The boat is trailable, however is a big boat. 30' w/ 9'6" beam. I just trail when needed. I was looking for some spots close to Breezy. it appears that there is great crabbing near Breezt as I have to navigate what seems like thousands to crab pot to get the the fishing grounds.

Fisheyed-I will shoot you a bmail shortly, thanks
Capt Dale-Not able to make the symposium but will email Kevin, thanks

·
Registered
2,477 Posts
George,
Those are commercial crab pots in the bay you can’t use them as a rec crabber, I’m referring to crab traps which are 12”x12”. Only catch one crab at a time.