Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just returned from the Outerbanks the other day. Some observations. I’ve been visiting the OBX for over forty years. Seems folks appear to get into a different frame of mind when they visit. Everyone is just plain friendly. There’s a what I would call a hole in the wall bakery in Burton. Not very big and not very fancy with a limited variety of baked goods. We sat on the deck eating our pastry. Every person that walked by us greeted us with a “good morning’, “how are you”, etc. Gives off a great vibe. Same happens when surf fishing and beach walkers pass by.

We’ve made this fall trip for the last twenty years. They closed flounder fishing in NC the last few years so we no longer bring boats. It’s surf , pier or bridge fishing these days. I find these fishermen a different breed from boat fishermen. They are free with advice. Ask them anything and they give it up. No worries about spot burning. As info, after oh so many years Drum Tackle has moved. They are a short distance south of their former location on the right lane.

Going to the Banks in the fall is always a **** shoot with the weather. Our first day surf fishing was a blue bird day. Sunny, light winds and warm. Unfortunately the fishing was not good. Very small /luefish. I call them snippers. And not many of them at that. The next two days it blew thirty to thirty five from the worse possible direction. Couldn’t fish anywhere. They did away with the cat walk at Oregon Inlet and converted the old bridge into a fishing pier like they did with the Choptank bridge really nice. We fished it in the afternoon one day. What a variety of fish. Specks, black drum sheepshead, reds, weakness etc. To bad all were to small to keep. Although one fellow did catch a slot red. One thing that surprised me was that it take much weight to hold bottom at the bridge.