Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
438 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heading back to Norfolk for 4 weeks (monday), and wanted to do a rookie offshore(ish) trip one weekend while Im up here.

My offshore experience is limited at best, shark fishing mostly, but would like to troll if I could. Any ideas on what/where to fish if I ran out of Rudee. My boat is a Sailfish 2360 w/single F250, so range could be an issue w/o twins even though I can hold 150gal of gas I would think for safetys sake about 30-50miles is my max for distance out (but Im not against buddy boating to venture further!!)

Anyway, Im pretty new to bluewater fishing, but Im just curious what may be biting out of Rudee late Oct early Nov.

Thanks,
Brad

·
Registered
919 Posts
Rockin-n-freakin-Roll Man!!!!!!!!!!! :clap::clap::clap:

I just started going offshore-in-my-first-new-boat this past year. 24-fter with single 250 and 125gal gas tank. Man............it sucked.

Just kidding. The big problem was that the yellowfin and bluefin forgot to come here. We did catch the snot out of the mahi mahi though.

Your boatsize ain't the problem. Your tank's plenty oversized (you ain't gonna use more than half of it, even going to the canyon). Your single engine (is it new) has it's own benefits.

Distance offshore really is not the issue. Hot Dog is 40m. 21fm finger is 47m. Hambone is 51m. Wayne's World is roughly 64m. Norfolk Canyon is just a little further at 70m. Cigar is 62m.

My opinion: don't go anywhere unless it's calm (5-10kt wind, seas LESS than 2-3 ft, and NO winds from the E, NE, or SE). If it's calm and you're going through all the trouble to get everything ready (gear, gas, bait, helpers, etc) then the difference between 40 and 70m is not a big deal. If the weather is not so calm, then the whole trip can suck in a 24ft boat; you'll get the feeling you're just trying to prove you can get out there and back.