Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 2 Okuma reels and I have been using them for about 2 years now and I really like the one I have but they do not sell it anymore so I have been checking out others. I have been looking at these 4, V System, Epixor EB Series, Travetine and the Salina. Has anyone used any of these and if so how do you like them. Thanks for any input you can give me.

·
Registered
2,751 Posts
Steve-

I got an Okuma Alumina last year from Boater's World and love it. Its got extremely smooth drag and retrieve, instant anti-reverse. Half the price of the VS. Unfortunately, according to this year's catalogue, BW only carries a UL model of the Alumina.

I also have 2 Epixors and find them to be very good reels for the price. The Travetine and Salinas are new models this year I think. Don't have any experience w/ them.

I think the VS has 15 stainless ball bearings and the Epixor has 9. The Alumina also has 9, and is smooth as butter.

·
Premium Member
7,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey John, You are right about the VS they have 15 Stainless Steele BB and the Epixor have 9. The Salina and the Travertine each have 4. I looked at the Alumina and I really liked that one as well and I really like the blue accents on it. I would like to get 2 more reels but not sure which ones to get.

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
Be careful about comparing ball bearing counts as Okuma is notorius about overstating bearing counts. They have an excellent website that gives schematics on most of their reels. You will see a common design on many of their models- go from there.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Steve,