Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend and myself went turkey hunting on our farm recently and we saw two of the biggest turkeys that he has ever seen. I say he because I'm new to the turkey hunting scene. He has killed them over 20 lbs with 12" beards. They are in a bottom area with grass fields and hedge rows and a swamp on one end that is at the time dried up dew to drought. We had decoys out and he can call real well, but the two monster turkeys hung up just out of range and went into the swamp underbrush. Should I try just setting up where I saw them a couple of times or ty to call them? Should I still use decoys or not, chancing that they will come out the way I've seen them in the past? Do they remember seeing someone and being spooked in an area and are hard to call in that area again, or do they have a bird brain and forget things quickly? I know I asked a lot of questions but, like I said I'm new to turkey hunting. Thanks

·
Registered
166 Posts
Try getting in right at grey light without using a flashlight to within 20 yards or so from where you saw them last. Sometimes they get really persnickety about crossing over a 6 in wide creek or even stepping over some brush.

I would avoid the decoys and call only sparringly ( tree calls and clucks). After about 7 or so and if you havent located them, let out a vicious fly down cackle then shut up for about 20 min. If they aren't henned up they should come a lookin' for you.

Remember the older they get, the less they sound off; watch out for the silent slip in.

It usually works for me; hope you slam him.

·
Registered
887 Posts
If you can't get him... give me a call. My friend is the state turkey calling champ and can probably call him in ifor you if the bird is not too terribly call shy. 757 784-7796 Where are you located? -Kepone

·
Registered
1,322 Posts