Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is not a fishin' report & will fade away soon but I appreciate the opinions this board has. I'm considering/designing a inground fiberglass pool for my new home & wondered if anyone here had one? I've heard rumors about them possibly "floating up" above the ground due to ground pressure rising to the surface? Also lookin' at the saltwater filtering systems instead of chlorine? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Any TFers in the pool biz would also be welcomed. Good luck when you can go ......:helpsmilie:

·
Registered
9,443 Posts

·
Registered
2,685 Posts
Scott, I am a crane operator for a crane rental co and i set fiberglass pools for a local pool co quite often, i am no expert on pools but have learned a little about them through my work. Here goes. If i could afford a fiberglass pool thats what i would have hands down, but they cost approx double a lined hole in the ground. As far as them floating or popping i think thats a markrting gimmick that the liner guys use to scare people away from fiberglass. Its certainlly posibble given the right cercumstances, but your a smart guy so think about it, its just like your boat, but opposite, as long as its got more water in it than under it how could it pop? , mayge if you drain it and the water table comes way up for some reason but you would have problems with either if that were tha case. I know that as soon as i set them in the graded hole they start filling them with water, iguess to hold it down and in place because then they start filling aroud it with sand, seldom have i seen the water table even around vb high enuf that they had water in the hole and they had to wellpoint. Fib has a lifetime war ,liner no and your gonna have to replace it, fib is qwicker to install, ect, ect. I think the biggest fib you can get is 16x40 due to hauling restrictions and a bare bones no frills is about 45 thou and that scares