Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 135 Opti. Fished Sunday, when I left the house it was a balmy 25F. Dropped the boat in Shipping Creek and started her up. Noticed no water out of the tell-tail. Hoped it was just blocked with ice. Watched the temp gauge and it steadily went up. Let it idle. After a couple of minutes sure enough she started spitting water and temp went down. I remember the same thing happening at the CBBT last January. I always store the engine down when the temp drops. Is this a normal thing? Can the impeller or thermostat get frozen? Is this something I need to worry about?

Thanks for any help,
Andy

·
Registered
2,859 Posts
When was the last time you had your impeller changed??? Do you ever start the boat without water attached to the lower unit??? I am not an outboard mechanic(auto mechanic) but I replace the impeller on my 20hp pretty much every year or every other year........impellers are rubber and are very plyable when new but get harder as they age.....rubber by nature also hardens during cold weather. Could just be a combo of cold temps and an impeller that is just not as plyable as it once was and It's taking some time to pick-up the water.

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have never run it with no water to it. The impeller is less then two years old and I haven't had a problem with it picking up water. I really think something was just frozen up, just not sure what it was or to what extent I should worry about it.

·
Registered
427 Posts
Little birdy told me to raise and lower your outboard a few times to get all the water out of her after use. Not a bad idea i guess.

·
Registered
6,708 Posts
Mine did the same thing. I let it run a minute and turned it off. Started it again and it started to pee. I'm thinking ice...................:confused:

·
Registered
4,571 Posts
Mine was peeing but the water pressure guage was frozen until noon or so.