Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone on the board had or know of anyone who has had a Spinal Cord Stimulator Implanted? It looks like I'm getting one on either the 10th or 11th of May. I know what the Doctors say about it and I had a week trial but I want to talk to someone who has had the full device implanted. I really want to know about the quality of life after the implant. I'm 36 years old and have had 4 Lumbar back operations. By trade I 'm a mason and also install Electronics in boats. Lots of bending and heavy bending and lifting. As of now Meds has been a way of life for me. If the Doctors are right this is the way to get me off of them. For obvious reasons I’m a little nervous about having this done. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks, Jim P.

·
Registered
6,854 Posts
A friend of mine has one and other than battery changes it's no big deal and you won't know it's there if done correctly. He's had his about 10 years. I've had 4 back surgeries with fusion but no stimulator yet.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Bob H. Is there any way you can get me in touch with your friend. Maybe a PM. I'd really like to talk with someone who has had it done. My last surgery was a Fusion. My choices now are to have another fusion or the stimulator. The doctors are split 50/50. 1/2 saying they think they can fix it and the other 1/2 saying that I would just be delaying the stimulator until next year. Dr. Paul MacFee was the guy who did the fusion out of St. Joe. Again any help would be greatly appreciated. The company that makes the Stimulator "Medtronics" has a number that I can call to talk with people who have had it done but I always wonder about talking to them. I'm sure that there screened. Again Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
823 Posts