Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For what seems like most of my life, I have fished primarily with Penn 4300SS and 4400SS reels. They been good reels, and I've had them serviced and cleaned on a number of occasions, but they are getting old and need to be replaced.

I need some advice on an inexpensive replacement. I found a bunch of Penn Captivas on ebay for cheap, but I have never used one before.. are these reels worth a ****?

Any other suggestions for inexpensive reels would be helpful... I've gone back to college this semester and don't have the $$ to blow on fishing tackle that I used to.

·
Registered
875 Posts
CRATIVA is not the word for it.....flat out junk. Do your self and favor and spend the extra 10 bucks for a Daiwa BG seris. Granted they don't have unlimited anitreverse but I have one that was bought 10+ years ago and I have only replaced the bail spring once. I have only used the Captiva twice and the handle is already loose. I took it back to Bass Pro. The guy took it a part and basicly told me it was the nature of the beast. All the guts are plastic.

Bill Fisher

G

·
I'm a diehard and still love my old Penn's. I just bought a brand new 320 GTI on ebay last week for $51.00. Can't beat that.

·
Registered
267 Posts
I like the penn slammer rls. Mine has held up well over the last 2 years and I fish them often. I owned the first years captiva and it sits somewhere in a landfill. I'm embarrassed to say I ever got suckered into buying one.

·
Registered
595 Posts
I still use the Penn SS reels. They can always be rebuilt, do it yourself or have PA or Wilcox take a look at em. If you need new ones buy the graphite ones, I have only one of the newer Graphite ones.

I have a 3 Penn 6/0's that I use offshore that are from the 1950's.

Just slap some oil on em!!

Eric

·
Premium Member
4,888 Posts