Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,686 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, I really want (NEED) to shoot another bird. My only bird a few yeras back was called in by two freinds. I do all the little things.....watch feilds, find were they've been dusting, scratching ect,ect. Roost them the night before or find them in the morning. Every day I hunted last year I had toms talking back but I kept screwing it up. The closest I came was a big tom and two hens cruising about 70yds out in a field. I almost postive I call too much. What is the standard routine (I know every bird/situation is differant)??? Get'm to gobble on the roost, wait to fly down and then??? Then I get all lost....purr, cluck, yelp, cut or shut up?

Thanks,
Anthony

·
Banned
859 Posts
I'm no expert, but in my experience. I use the Yellp and cutt to locate birds. Once located, depending on his interest in me, I'll just cluck and purr him into gun range. I like cutting, if he's hot and I love hearing them gobble. If he's henned up, I'll try to call the hens in with some intense yelping. None have been a sure thing, his mood changes on an hourly basis. When in doubt, stop calling. Alot of times he comes in if you shut up and leave him hanging. A good rule, after you located him and he answered your call is to sit back, relax and wait him out and only answer him when he gobbles.

·
Banned
859 Posts
....best advise is to be patient. If he answers you, he'll remember where you are almost to the tree and he'll come back for you later when the hens go to nest......around 10-11am.

·
Registered
366 Posts
Anthony