Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm starting to make up some lures for next year, and was wondering about what folks have had the most success with, in regard to colors & length, hook sizes & hook types.

I've been making lures for many years, but this will be my first attempt at making hose lures. :D

In the past I've bought hose lures in red, black & Fl green and have had mixed success with them, but really haven't used them a lot.

Any preferences or input? I know this isn't rocket science, but would like to hear what others have to say about them! :rolleyes:

Thanks!
Big Jim

·
Premium Member
26,108 Posts
Hoses run hot/cold. In spring I drag a few that are 36'' (yes three feet) long and they sometimes catch Rock only 34 inches- greedy buggers :D.

I like a 3/8 dia. X 12 '' long hose for summer/fall.Dark red is my favorite but flor. red / green/ chart/ black will work.

A few years ago- purple was hot but that did not do well last season :confused:.

The big key is using the right guage wire.It needs to be soft enough to be able to bend/curve but stiff enough to hold the shape.

If you are making them your self - you might want to use a ball bearing swivel in the head.They are expensive but really cut down or leader snarls.

·
Registered
5,399 Posts
--Big Jim --The most IMPORTANT thing in Hose Making is the Wire in the Center --It Must hold a Set ---Sending a PM

·
Registered
86 Posts
I had good sucess with natural (brown), black and red tubes. I used to make my own also - the wire is very important, like the previous posts.

·
Registered
1,548 Posts