Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience with either. With that said, could someone please tell me if barnacles attached themselves to the paint or have they found a means to penetrate the paint and attach directly to the hull?

Ultimately, I want to know if they damage the outer surface of the fiber glass on bottom painted hulls.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Barnacles leave a nasty mess when you them scrape them off. Not real damage but the remains have to be removed with an acid base cleaner or plain muriatic acid. I don't think you will have that new glossy finish any longer. They with attach to almost anything. They can stick to old antifouling paint . It takes very few of them to affect performance through the water. Power washing will not remove them so they have to be scraped. Sand the bottom and repaint with good finish and you might as well do barrier coat, Interprotect 2000, while you have the paint off.

·
Registered
636 Posts
Barnacles leave a nasty mess when you them scrape them off. Not real damage but the remains have to be removed with an acid base cleaner or plain muriatic acid. I don't think you will have that new glossy finish any longer. They with attach to almost anything. They can stick to old antifouling paint . It takes very few of them to affect performance through the water. Power washing will not remove them so they have to be scraped. Sand the bottom and repaint with good finish and you might as well do barrier coat, Interprotect 2000, while you have the paint off.