Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to scrape my barnacles and sand my bottom. This is on my boat of course, no matter what my wife says. :eek:

I am also toying with the idea of pouring some lead.

I am looking for a mask (I figger the replaceable element type) that would be good for both. I know nothing about microns/hepas, etc.

Any recomendations of brand, filter quality, prices, where to find, etc. would be appreciated.

Thank you,
Jim

·
Registered
2,525 Posts
I work in the Haz waste field and handle, pack, and transport pretty much anything anyone can dish out. We've recently moved to full face respirators but for your purposes half face will do just fine. I reccomend a Wilson half face model F950 M/L (I think the M/L part stands for medium large but I'm not sure). Now the important part about respirators are the cartridges. For particulate waste such as bottom sanding you should only need a HEPA cartridge but when dealing with Lead Vapor you are going to need an inorganic vapor cartridge. I'm guessing a corrosive liquid vapor cartridge would also do the job since inorganic metals and inorganic acids share similar properties. Now you can find combination cartridges that will be a little more expensive but will do the job of both or you can buy them seperatly. OSHA and Wilson reccomend the average life of a cartridge to be in the 8hr range but as HEPA's get used more they also begin to filter out smaller and smaller particulates BUT they also get harder to breath through. Also remember if you have facial hair you have to shave it or it's not even worth buying all this stuff b/c you will not get an air tight seal. Most of this stuff can also be bought from a place like Grainger. If you have any more questions feel free to p-mail me.

-Evans

·
Registered
18 Posts