Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this striper fishing in the spring trophy season. I went last year with knowledgeable people who had all the rods/rigging/umbrellas/etc.

I want to try it myself this year and am looking for advice on what rigs to purchase. Billy bars, spreaders, tandems. What colors and sizes of shad/curly tails etc.

I'm planning on using tekota 500 and 600s for reels with 30# braid and wind on leaders, either fluoro or mono.

Pictures would be great as the terminology is a little new to me as well.

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer. It's all so confusing but I want to learn.

Rick

·
Premium Member
26,103 Posts
Try to attend as many seminars as you can - be sure to bring paper to jot down notes.

Many are free - like monthly MSSA and PSG meetings. Other seminars are held at the various fishing flea markets - good place to buy tackle.

IMHO - you'll find the better parachutes at local shops. I use lures from All Tackle , Anglers , Marty's and Tylers as well as Spankin' Striper ( on line or at some shows ).

Umbrellas will catch but I prefer singles and tandem parachutes on 60lb Ande clear leaders.

Basic colors are always white and chartreuse but it pays to have sparkle green glitter / pearl / blue and white ( early season ).

I like to mix the colors up until I find what fish like best that day. No idea why but some days a chart. parachute with white shad is great but a white parachute with chart. shad does not get hit. Crazy but it happens a lot.

Having white / white and chart. / chart. out will never be wrong - these will often get hit day in / day out.

I prefer 9 inch shads - I buy from Martys - little bit extra but good quality shads.

If you have not filled reels yet - you might want to bump up to 50 ,65 or even 80 lb braid. I put 300 feet ( 100 yds ) on each reel so it does not break the bank. With firm drag - few Rock pull much line off the reel.

·