Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Entering the Rocktoberfest tournament(24 hour tourny) in Ocean City Md. Haven't done any Ocean fishing for Rockfish. Looking for lure/ trolling suggestions. Links to any websites with material to study is appreciated as well. Fishing for the tourny is restricted to no farther than 3miles offshore. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
I am not an expert, but you can apply the same big fish principles used in the bay to the ocean. I.e. big parachutes, umbrella rigs etc. Mojos helping the lures get down deep will work as well. Fish will likely be more schooled up than your typical spring rockfish, so look for birds, bait, etc before putting lines in. Some folks I believe will use boards and many rods, but given the schooling potential this could backfire if you get totally covered up. Captain's discretion there I suppose. BTW, the 3-mile limit is not just for the tourney -- it is federal law.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Most use stretch 25 and 30's usually a 6 rod spread, mojo's work well too with a big fly on a 3 way swivel. Bomber makes a similar plug to a stretch which I have had good luck with. Try to fish rips where there is a big depth change. A moving tide is way better slack

·
Registered
8,598 Posts
The tournament dates look bit early for a good run of big bass along the coast but some surmise that the big ones come down the coast first (LBI surf tournament is usually won early in the season). Bad part about the early season is usually slammer blues are present until the water temp really starts to drop. This means rubber shads like we use in the bay get torn up fast and easy. Because of this I recommend big swim plugs, big bunker spoons, or big red hoses for trolling. Chunking out side the inlets could be another option to go with or even drifting live eels outside the inlets could be good too.

·
Registered
176 Posts