Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

Whenever I read a report about quotas and annual harvests the numbers puzzle me to no end.

For example (and I'm making this up). Last year Virginia Anglers caught 643,271 flounder.

I suspect the commercial #'s are reasonably accurate, especially if tags are involved. As for recs... I have no idea. I've been fishing out of Virginia Beach for 27 years and I have only been asked about my catch twice. Once at Rudee and once when the Man boarded me during rockfish season.

How do they collect #'s on the catch? Are the numbers they use to set quotas accurate? Or reasonably accurate?

If anyone asks, I'm a conservation minded rec angler, but I do not a political ax to grind either way. Just curious in this case.

Thanks,

Mike

·
Registered
4,196 Posts
Mike that is the problem we all have with the numbers. that each state report for the rec. fisherman. In all cases it just a guess on their part. And man do I get steamed when I hear that from them. We the sport fisherman. Are told we catch most of the fish. More then the commercials. Their is no way I'm going to beleive that. For my part, like you. I return every thing. But here is the thing that burns me. I was told of all the fish I return. A percentage of them die. They count that in their totals. How in to hell do they know if a fish I release dies? They don't have a qlue as to how I handle fish. I was told they feel that a given percentage of released fish are stressed enought that they die. so they factor that in, I asume by the number of liecnses that are sold. And that really jerks my chain.:mad: .

·
Registered
3,677 Posts
So being lazy and in a hurry this morning here are some snippits from previous posts. Somewhere I did a more detailed explaination, I just can't find it now.