Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I'm pretty new to fishing this area and striper in general, but I know weekends, and Saturdays especially, are a crowded mess. I was still shocked by yesterday. Boats everywhere, boats places I never see boats, boats clustered together super close, etc. I heard a number of yells and curses as trollers got too close and tangled lines, near had a boat twice our size drift straight into us, turned their motor on not 20 ft off our bow, though they were gonna cut our anchor line because they were right on top of it. :nono: Lucky it worked out fine. But man did the whole scene muffle the day. We'll be getting out earlier or skipping Saturdays from here out.

Anyway, the fishing: Marked nothing at hacketts, which was an unusual twist for recent times. Made our way looking for marks where there weren't crowds but no luck, so without lines down we skirted the fleet at Sandy point looking for fish. Found an open enough spot of the edge of the fleet and got to chumming. The hits were kinda slow, but we each caught a few, about half dinks. Left with a 21, a 22 and a 30 in the cooler, half our 3 man limit and the first time this year to left without our limit (though usually only 2 of us).