Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have fish Nags Head and the Oregon Inlet area for my whole life. I am going to go fish in September on vacation for the first time. I usually go in July, November and mid spring.
I have a 20 ft. wellcraft cc that I have taken to about 5 miles offshore and throughout the whole Chesapeake.
Question is, I need some target species that will keep me busy. What and where does anyone recommend? Larger species especially.

·
Registered
805 Posts
With a 20ft. boat you need to pick your days out of OI. There are several ARs about 8nm and some closer-in for some bottom fishing. If conditions are not favorable outside of the inlet for your boat, heat down to Hatteras and do the inshore thing for best results.

Good luck.

·
Premium Member
7,830 Posts
OTA, I have been fishing down that way for many years and with the boat I have I can only fish the inlet and I have had good luck. We leave for the Outter Banks September 24th and will be fishing that whole week, weather permitting. We caught some very nice trout and flounder last year in the sound just hope we can get into this year. September can be a very good month to fish the inlet. If you are going that week maybe we can hook up. The best bait we have found to use is live mullet but you have to catch them yourself. Best of luck

·
Registered
11 Posts
I agree with Spearo. Take the boat down to Hatteras in put in at Teach's Lair. The inlet and channels are thick with flounder and trout and they have been trolling lots of spanish and blues right off the beach.

Last time we were down we caught some kings about 5 miles out on our way back in from the blue.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I like the inlet and the sound fishing, its always a toss up on whats gonna bite. My wife likes the sound only but my buddies and I like the inlet and ocean.