Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
This afternoon I am ripping out my shift and throttle cables and replacing them. I have no experience with doing this before and have never even looked at how they are attached. Anyone done this before? I have no clue where to begin, but my goal is to get them out by tonight.

Any helpful hints? Thanks guys.

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
Well, a lot depends on what kind of motor you have. I'll say this, in my experience with Merc outboards, it's a lot easier to deal with the motor end than the throttle end, be advised there are a lot of small parts in the throttle assembly, and some are held in place with only a dab of grease! In other words, pay close attention to the throttle end during disassembly, and don't let the little brass bushings and rollers fall into the bilges.
Pat in Joppa

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
Oh, the throttle quadrant mounts on top of the console? That might be easier to deal with than the side mount setup I have. I know replacing the cables and shifter on a buddies i/o was much simpler than my Merc o/b. Good luck, and I would suggest taking plenty of digital pics as you take it apart....I like digital cameras for this sort of thing....
Pat in Joppa

·
Registered
2,852 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well, it's a done deal. It took about two hours to get off and temporiarly button everything back up.

With anyhting else on a boat, if I was working on a 1 dimensional square it would be fine, but with tight blind spaces, and secret compartments everywhere, it took a little longer than it should have with just one person.

Conceptually and mechanically a pretty simple job.

·
Registered
1,694 Posts
Just had that dun..

Francis,