Tidal Fish Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
805 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone else doing the Triangle wreck this weeked off Kill Devil Hills?
Now that the town has place a bouy on one of the sections the site has become very popular. Before, you had to lineup three things ones you were way out there if you wanted to see metal so... there is a saying... "the early bird gets the worm" now you know what you need to do to get some dinner. [grin]

·
Registered
502 Posts
Hey Spearo, I'm new to this section of the board...just started reading some posts and found to be very interesting. I dove that triangle wreck 2x, last time was about 8 yrs ago. The first time, great vis and witnessed a spear fisherman clean it up!!!

The second time vis was only about 6-8 feet and it wasn't as fun. That was my wifes first and last saltwater dive! Oh well, at least she tried it. I haven't dove in at least 5 years since we have a few kids....the idea still gets me fired up. I have a 26'8 Glacier Bay and I plan on spending a few days fishing the CBBT in late may and will consider dusting off the gear!

·
Registered
805 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Bucktale, welcome to this corner. I feel your pain about the low vis. and woman divin, my douther also dives and the CBBT divin thing with the 4-6ft. vis. is no diving to her.

We should all remember when doing those wrecks offshore and hunting in them that those wrecks are filled with sharks even if they don't show-up when you're divin they know what the sound of metal hitting matal means and ones you got something they like thy're not going to stop untill they get it and if you get in their way you will get hurt, just something to keep in mind always when draging dead fish around those deep wrecks.
Stay in shape, check old gear and get in the water a few times before doing open water. The CBBT is a close, low vis. hunting so a small gun (36" to 48" max.) with a short line will do fine.