Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Tidal Fish Subscriber - I Support TidalFish.com!
7,173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have covered this somewhat before but wanted to post some additional pics and how-to discussion since the weather is too cold to build. Not that I'm an expert and there are better scarfing systems... but this is mine. Scarfing or joining wood together is a critical part of modern wooden boat-building.
NOTE: Images below are out of order but you can figure it out.

Start with one 4x8 sheet of plywood upside down because when you flip and joint them, the grain is correct. I show you both pieces of wood with the Lloyds stamps up but one should be down and one up. All my remaining scarfs were/will be this way. I show a power-planer ($100 for Makita) and a hand-planer. What I don't show is my random-orbital sander that I used to feather the edges far more than you see in these pics. Take the edges down to almost nothing to get a great seam.

The scarfing table was made totally from scraps I pulled out of a dumpster behind Circuit City. Yes, I'm a dumpster diver. A table with an extension for plywood should be close to 16 feet but 12 works. Mine is short but you can't see the braces under the wood hanging over. Works fine. Some people use ping-pong tables.

Line your sheets of plywood and measure back 3 inches each, planing an area of 6 inches total. Draw a clear line 3 inches above the top board and clamp everything down so it doesn't move.

Start with the power planer at a 45 degree angle (angle shown below as tools are stationary)... pull across one way and then the other evenly. Use your eye to check eveness. Then use a hand planer and finally an electric sander or block until you get two wedges. You'll have a tendency not to take enough off the fist time you do this but you want them to look like one solid piece when sandwiched together.