Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Taking a jaunt down to SB this Sunday afternoon and going to try to scare up some live bait and set out a couple lines for King Mackeral a 1/2 mile or so off the beach...anybody game? Call me...

·
Registered
302 Posts
I'm definitely thinking about a Sandbridge jaunt. My thoughts were more towards early AM with chum and eels. The Carolina piers have been doing well on cobia, maybe they're back in town. Sunday or Saturday, both days look good.

Ric
289-5136

·
Registered
211 Posts
If'n y'all don't mind a couple of newbies along for the ride, John Lannon and I talked about joining y'all on this voyage.

However, I don't think either one of us has ever been cobia fishing. In 500 words or less, what are the basics?

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
HEy...I'm a newbie too...I'll be there around 2 PM until dusk...my only concern is live bait...I want to drift live bait..I may fish for a couple of croakers to pin onto a King Rig (you can pick up KING MACKERAL rigs at BW, BOATUS for about $2.59 - $2.99 each...I will probably drift along the beach a few hundred yads offshore and drag a flounder rig along the bottom to see what happens...I do need to get/make a gaff and I still need a net...wont use a net on a Cobia or King...leader 'em and gaff'em and schmack'em on the brain housing group I what you do I guess...at least thats what I do in a real boat...and then put'em in my lap...LOL...See ya then...We oughtt ameet up at the Little Island Pier at 2 PM and give each other a hand at portaging down to the water...

·
Registered
43 Posts
I asked the same question acouple of days ago ( basics for cobia out of the yak?) and have not gotten any feedback. Everyone must be too busy fishing![wink] The info would be much appreciated.