Tidal Fish Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Ladies and Gentleman,

I have several questions I need answered and I hope you can help. This spring I would like to try fishing the Flats during the early catch and release season but I have never been there.
1.) I need to know if a 17ft tri-hull with a 85 hp prop will be able to navigate the area without beating up my prop? How far can I travel up the river towards the Conowingo? How far can I travel north towards the town of NorthEast?

2.) Where is there a good launch to go out of, one that is clean with a good clear channel out to the Flats?

3.) How successful have you been pitching jigs to stripers in the area? Also are there any specific markers or structure that I should know about or avoid because of potential dangers?

Thank you all for any replys that you post. Every post will be helpful. A short story of my self, I have been boating for 15 years, I have been fishing out of the lower bay for 5 years and take my personal safety and the safety of my equipment very seriously. I also have two other boats, a 17 express jet boat and a 25ft ChrisCraft Cruiser, if either of these boats would be better for the Flats please say so.

Respectfully,
Kevin

·
Registered
2,842 Posts
Hello Ladies and Gentleman,

I have several questions I need answered and I hope you can help. This spring I would like to try fishing the Flats during the early catch and release season but I have never been there.
1.) I need to know if a 17ft tri-hull with a 85 hp prop will be able to navigate the area without beating up my prop? How far can I travel up the river towards the Conowingo? How far can I travel north towards the town of NorthEast?

2.) Where is there a good launch to go out of, one that is clean with a good clear channel out to the Flats?